Navigation Menu


2020 ALAO Awards

Presented at: Thursday, October 29, 2020 12:10pm

Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award

The Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual who has (1) been an Academic Library Association of Ohio member for at least 5 years (2) promoted academic libraries and librarianship on his or her own campus and within the state (3) provided sustained leadership in the promotion of Academic Library Association of Ohio, e.g., committee service, interest group chair, position on the Executive Board. [Read more]
Katy Kelly, University of Dayton
Katy is well known for her tremendous service to her community, the University of Dayton, and ALAO. Indeed, colleague attests that thanks to her hard work and dedication, 'the Libraries has really become the heart of our campus community.' Equity, diversity, inclusion, and access were foundational values during her service in multiple ALAO roles. As noted by a colleague, one of her many contributions was 'a set of community agreements to help ensure the annual conference provided space for respectful dialogue around critical issues, laying the groundwork for the future development of an ALAO code of conduct.'

Kathryn Venditti Mentoring Award

The Kathryn L. Venditti Mentoring Award is given annually to an academic librarian who has demonstrated excellence as a mentor to a librarian, library worker, or library science student. Through this award ALAO strives to foster a culture of mentoring within the Association. [Read more]
Tammy J. Eschedor Voelker, Kent State University
Tammy has mentored countless practicum students and colleagues in both formal and informal settings. Tammy extends her mentorship beyond library school to support mentees through their job search and careers. Tammy is known for tackling any challenge and learning along with her students and colleagues. A mentee attested, 'Her mentorship has known absolutely no bounds, and there's no way I could ever repay her for all that she's given me so freely and generously.'


For Distinguished Service by an ALAO member in the fields of Technical, Electronic and Digital Services. [Read more]
Derek Zoladz, OhioNET
Derek has worked tirelessly over the last five years to enhance ALAO's technical portfolio and internal processes. From recovering and centralizing the administration of ALAO's web properties, to instituting a role-based model of account creation in order to facilitate knowledge transition and succession planning, Derek's commitment to strengthening Ohio's academic library community through service to ALAO is unmatched. While securing the funding for ALAO's website redesign, and providing the initial guidance for the project, Derek generously shared his knowledge through a hands-on approach to mentoring colleagues. Derek was the project lead for the development of the 2020 Virtual Conference website, whose code has been gifted back to ALAO under an MIT license.

Diversity Scholarship Award

ALAO values diversity in its membership, in the profession, and in future library professionals. For that reason, we offer a $1,500 scholarship to a promising student enrolled in an ALA-accredited MLS program who exemplifies the qualities needed to ensure a diverse library workforce. The scholarship funds will be sent to the recipient after institutional enrollment is confirmed by the Diversity Committee chair or designee. [Read more]
Rachel Littleton, Kent State University SLIS

Research & Publications Committee Research Grant

The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) seeks to promote research, and each year the ALAO Executive Board may award up to $2000.00 to support and encourage research projects proposed by ALAO members. Both ongoing and new research projects are considered. Grants are intended to help in funding such incremental research costs as the organization of data, the hiring of interviewers or other assistants, charges for computer time, and modest travel costs associated with research. Grants may not be used for purchase of equipment. Grants are limited to investigations related to issues in libraries, librarianship, and information science and technology.
Kayla Harris, University of Dayton
Heidi Gauder, University of Dayton

Continuing Education Grant

The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) Continuing Education Grant is awarded each year to support the cost of participating in professional development opportunities such as conferences, workshops, seminars, which are related to the member?s current position or in pursuit of a professional library degree. Current ALAO members are eligible to apply for funds to defray the costs of attending any library-related educational opportunity occurring during the calendar year. [Read more]
Corazon Britton, The Ohio State University
Tressa Graves, The Ohio State University
Danielle Bernert, Columbus College of Art & Design

Support Staff Conference Grant

The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) seeks to encourage support staff development and participation in ALAO activities. To that end, the ALAO Executive Board may award up to $150 annually to support and encourage support staff to attend the ALAO Annual Conference. [Read more]
Saad Arshad, Highbrow College

People's Choice Poster Award

The People's Choice Award recognizes excellence in a poster presented at the ALAO Annual Conference. Voting on the Award is open to all attendees. Votes are tallied by the Research & Publications Committee. The award winner is announced following the conference, and receives a $100 award.
Stephanie Porrata, The Ohio State University